A while back I was given my late grandmothers sewing machine and while it is difficult for me to even think of using it without her with me, I decided to give my first re-purpose DIY a go.

My son's pillow has been without a cover for some time now and it's being driving me crazy. I've looked for travel size pillow cases and they were $6 plus shipping, even on eBay. So I kept putting it off Procrastination is never an answer. Once I realized enough was enough, I got to thinking and boom, I figured out that I could re-purpose his old swaddling blankets for the pillow case, and ta-dah, pillow case magic.

his swaddling blankets have been sitting in his closet with no use aside from taking up space, so this not only gave me a reason to use my sewing machine for the first time, but put this fabric to good use. Now I can cross one more thing off my list and I feel at ease with my son sleeping on his pillow, or under it. You never know with a two year old.

Total cost of this project $0. My favorite kind!!

Happy Holidays - xoxo








Leave a Reply.